Royal Canadian Navy fleet and specialized units

Royal Canadian Navy Ensign

The Royal Canadian Navy’s (RCN) fleet is made up of numerous classes of ships, submarines and other vessels, as well as specialized units that allow Canada to maintain one of the most active blue-water navies in the world.

Ship classes

Halifax-class Canadian Patrol Frigate

The Halifax-class multi-role patrol frigates are considered the foundation of the current RCN.

Harry DeWolf-class Arctic and Offshore Patrol Ship

The Harry DeWolf-class enhances the RCN’s ability to assert Canadian sovereignty in our Arctic and coastal waters, and support international operations.

Kingston-class Maritime Coastal Defence Vessel

The Kingston-class are multi-role minor war vessels with a primary mission of coastal surveillance and patrol.

Orca-class Patrol Craft Training Vessel

Orcas operate year-round in British Columbia coastal waters and frequently visit smaller ports on the Mainland and around Vancouver Island.

Future Canadian Surface Combatant

The multi-purpose Canadian Surface Combatant will form the backbone of the RCN’s future fleet, designed to serve Canada and the sailors of tomorrow well into the latter half of the 21st century.

Future Protecteur-class Joint Support Ships

The two Protecteur-class Joint Support Ships will provide core replenishment, limited sealift capabilities, and support to operations ashore.


Victoria-class submarines

Submarines are part of the unseen force of Canada: stealthy, lethal and persistent, making them ideal for surveillance and intelligence gathering.

Specialized units

Naval Tactical Operations Group

The Naval Tactical Operations Group is a full-time, dedicated unit within the RCN that specializes in advanced boarding operations at sea.

Naval Boarding Party

Naval Boarding Parties are used to conduct cooperative boarding operations in order to investigate lower-threat vessels of interest and to work with deployed Naval Tactical Operations Group teams.

Naval Security Team

The Naval Security Team is specially trained to provide an extra layer of land and sea-based security -- called enhanced force protection -- to deployed RCN assets.

HMCS Oriole

Commissioned in 1952, Her Majesty’s Canadian Ship (HMCS) Oriole is the oldest ship in the Royal Canadian Navy.

HMCS Haida

The only remaining Second World War Tribal-class destroyer, HMCS Haida is now a National Historic Site and was designated the RCN’s flagship in 2018.

Date modified: